Hi Comp+ X Heads+ 93 Octane possible?

-

Lil Demon

Reaction score
Ok so as I've mentioned before I'm building a 340 and have some X heads ready to rock. I thought I was good to go forward on my build and was planning to run around 10-10.5:1 compression on pump gas. After talking to Hughes Engines I was advised that was not possible with Iron Heads. He said I would have significant detonation without using race fuel, so I began looking at the aluminum alternative.

I feel I should've asked my fellow forum members first. Is it possible to run that kind of compression with those heads on pump gas?

I am trying to build a motor capable of turning high 11's and I realize that streetable manners will be somewhat compromised and that's nothing I've never built before, I just have never built a Mopar motor before and I have always been a fan of the big bore short stroke 340. So here is my shot at Mopar muscle.

no problem with a correct tune and some rear gear. dave hughes needs to relax. I run a blueprinted 11.5 with 93 octane and iron 3418915 heads for 20 years

Xheads and Keith black 191 Pistons runs 11.90s no problem with the 93 in
Fact never run anything but 93 octane

Right now, I am at a correctly MEASURED compression ratio of 11.08:1 on CI heads. I can get to 11.25:1 with a quick gasket change. It will run on pump gas. Dave gets all bent about CR either because he is afraid you are not smart enough to learn how to tune an engine or, he can't do it.

Always consider the system. Every thing must be thoughtfully selected and then tuned. The single most important thing to select is the camshaft. You must understand overlap and Lobe Seperation Angle. Once you do, you will most guys are leaving big HP on the table. One from not running enough compression. The other is using the wrong Lobe Seperation Angle. The current LSA thinking is a HP loser for sure.