How fast can a stock leaf rearend be?

-

The Shocker

Reaction score
My question is how fast are you going with a stock leaf setup? My Dart is running 7.50's in the 1/8 on 8.5 slicks.Am i getting near the limit ? I have no Caltracs ,slapper bars ,SS springs ,etc ,just stock worn springs with the front portions clamped together.It never has wheel hopped yet and my best 60' was 1.65 ,plus im getting great weight transfer.How much can it take ?I know i have lots of questions for you guys ,but im trying to learn ,because im kinda new to Mopars...

100_2304.jpg

100_2275.jpg

I wouldn't touch it.... if it's hooking then that's just what you want. I think it can handle it myself. How many times have you ran it?

The guy with the "Fastest Street Car" thread is in the 9s (1/4 mile) with stock suspension.

Your kidding right ? You dont have any traction helpers at all ,just stock springs and its planting the tires enough to run those #'s ? What are your 60' times ?

NO! not kidding.

That would be my buddy Tim in his all steel '69 Dart with a Indy headed 500 roller motor. The car is currently here and for sale. He also ran low 10's with a S/B stroker in the same year car, not the exact car for sale now.

His rear end suspention in the S/B Dart was in fact stock 6cyl. springs and a 8-3/4. I do beileve the current big block car is also a 6cyl spring set up. Completely OE for the year. No pinion snubber ethier IIRC. I'll have to (re) ask him.

He ran very wide tires. 60 ft. times with the S/B were 2.0's - 1.9's, the BB is IIRC 1.6 or 1.5's pullin the wheels.

Click below to read, see and watch the car run.

http://www.forabodiesonly.com/mopar/showthread.php?t=67025

I wouldn't touch it.... if it's hooking then that's just what you want. I think it can handle it myself. How many times have you ran it?