Is a Holley 750 DP too much carb?

-

Gregor

Reaction score
Hey guys, I'm a newbie who has a built 360 bored .30 over. This motor was built by Mr. Wilson of Compuflow in Medina OH about ten years ago. I just bought the car a 70 dart which was given a restoration 9-10 years ago. This car did alot of sitting over the past decade with only 2k miles put on it in that time. I'm super grateful to have a fresh build done by what I hear was one of the best engine builders around these parts. Some people I have shown the car to have suggested that the 750 is too much carb for this engine. Engine has a forged crank and high energy cams in it and TTI headers. I do not know what the compression ratio is at this time. I have a folder of information with all data in it if you need more specific answers as to lift, duration and timing that would help in someone giving me good advice. The 750 that's on it is slightly leaking so I have a gasket set ordered for it. If the wise thing to do would be to downsize to a smaller carb then I'll just skip the 750 overhaul.

Is the 750 a double pumper or single feed? Holley or carter? Cam specs would be key in this as well. Sounds like a great car. Does it lag off the line? Hesitate when floored?

Some details about the engine would really help!
Off the cuff, a 750 is just fine for stock to a well prepped hot rod. A 750 covers almost all the bases. Unless it is a strip car or a seriously beefed up engine, 750 is perfect.

Off the cuff, a 750 is just fine for stock to a well prepped hot rod. A 750 covers almost all the bases. Unless it is a strip car or a seriously beefed up engine, 750 is perfect.
At work right now. I have all the specs on the engine build at home. I will get that info posted tonight.

in my opinion and based on my experience 750 double pumpers show there stuff when combined with high gears and four speeds if your set up is in that wheel house and carb is working well it is a power house...but a bit hungry