Is this a good engine for the price

-

Hallzy

Reaction score
Bear with me I am a rookie thanks for any good input could use some experienced opinions
Engine would be going in a 74 swinger with an a904 and a narrowed 8.8 rear with 3:73 gears also unsure what converter would be good with this combination
Owner wants 6500$ Canadian

Screenshot_20170708-111350_1.jpg

Screenshot_20170708-111432_1.jpg

Only 2 grand more then what I paid to have my 408 build

What are you planning for this car and engine? If wide open racing, then it MIGHT be a good candidate... which it sounds like if you have a narrowed rear axle . For street cruising, it is overkill.

There is NO mention of condition or how much it has been used; this engine may be totally run out. Is there any chance you can go see it and pull a head to make bore measurements?

What are you planning for this car and engine? If wide open racing, then it MIGHT be a good candidate... which it sounds like if you have a narrowed rear axle . For street cruising, it is overkill.

There is NO mention of condition or how much it has been used; this engine may be totally run out. Is there any chance you can go see it and pull a head to make bore measurements?
Mostly just street but there are about a million assholes with mustangs around here and it would sure be nice to eat them alive

We have used MANY smallblocks from cup shops,,,most notably Roush/Yates engine shop,,we generally paid around 38k for good smallblocks, basically 358cid, they would dyno at 780+hp and didnt run until they turned 8700rpm,,,and would turn those rpms all day long,,,,so its doubtful what this guy is claiming to be a 500 hp motor,,with a 30 to 40 k motor cost is true. Even Clemens house of power in S. Carolina isnt that pricey for a 500hp mopar sb...... just my two cents