Lights and accessories fluctuating (some thoughts and thanks)

-

Batesy

Reaction score
First, I am pretty new to the forums. Second, even though i am in my mid-40's, I am also new to owning a classic car and working on it myself.
I have a very generous friend who has been guiding me when things come up. I have recently had an electrical issue come up that he and i researched online here both on this forum and other places.
Before I go any further, I really want to thank 67Dart273 who, more than anyone else on here, has PATIENTLY answered the same questions over and over on this forum and offered up great advice to everyone who comes on here with (very often) the same handful of electrical problems.
I, too, had the electrical gremlins that caused my lights (internal/external) and accessories to pulsate, flicker, etc. I have a 75 Swinger. After reading a number of posts and articles, I went ahead and did the MAD bypass but my problems continued. I posted a video to show someone my problem here [ame="https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qAPM4F3rd0M"]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qAPM4F3rd0M[/ame]
Anyway, just to encourage others, after reading up on other posts, i went back and checked my grounds at the alternator, battery, etc. Turned out my alternator ground was very loose. Tightened it down and BAM, the pulsating stopped! Now, I still have a problem where things get brighter, stronger when I give it some gas and drive and then go back down at idle but I am going to continue troubleshooting based on what i have read here. So if you are new and have a lights problem, check your grounds first. It quickly solved my biggest problem -pulsating lights/power.
Thanks to everyone on here for taking the time to post helpful responses to problems.