Making power out of the 318

-
Status
Not open for further replies.

carmart1975

Reaction score
so i recently got and 1973 small block 318 i am very new to mopar and was wondering what to do to the 318 i have every thing but the pistons the guy that i got it off of droped one and cracked it, i also have 360 heads that i would like to put on i am thinking about putting kb 167 pistons (0.40 over) in it, stock crank, stock rods and a rad cam with a lot of lope because i am a stupid kid, and stock 360 heads and then some kind of single plane intake and then a 750 double pumper i am really on a tight budget. is all of this possible or unrealistic.

Depending on the chamber volume and what they actually measure at, you could use kb399’s. They’re domed and could put your compression up higher where it won’t be a lazy low compression combo. What axle, gears and tire size does your car have? That has to be considered for your cam. Stall of converter?

Looks like you will be below 9:1 compression ratio. If you want a big cam I'd run more compression. 360 heads usually run around 72cc.

so i recently got and 1973 small block 318 i am very new to mopar and was wondering what to do to the 318 i have every thing but the pistons the guy that i got it off of droped one and cracked it, i also have 360 heads that i would like to put on i am thinking about putting kb 167 pistons (0.40 over) in it, stock crank, stock rods and a rad cam with a lot of lope because i am a stupid kid, and stock 360 heads and then some kind of single plane intake and then a 750 double pumper i am really on a tight budget. is all of this possible or unrealistic.
Your gonna get a lot of conflicting advice on 318's, you seem to be on the right track, i don't know about the single plane and lot of lope (possible depending on), but first before that what gears stall and what kind of performance and purpose are you looking for ? 318 need rpm to make decent power which like deep gears stall etc..