Martial arts??

-

2shelbys

Reaction score
I wanted to see how many people we have here who are training in the martial arts. I trained years ago but stopped because I was an active musician and could not afford the damage I occasionally did to my hands but I am going to start training again. Not only because of the deterioration of society and increased danger on the streets but also because my old, fat butt needs to get in shape and stay that way. I have two little girls who I want to see into adulthood.

A friend of mine has a Kenpo school and is one of the highest-ranked Kenpo instructors in the country. Kenpo is a very effective real world style. I am sure I will do some training with him but I am pretty set that I am going to study Genbukan Ninpo Bugei, the authentic system passed down through 58 generations from the original Iga ninja clans. It is a style that has no real tournament application. It was developed to survive combat, period. It also involves a great deal of the mental training that is necessary to survive combat.

Which style do you study and what do you like about it?

I trained for a few years, I started at 11 years old and trained until I was 16.
My step-father was a Sensei in Jiu-jit-su/kick-boxing.
Lessons given in our basement, as all equipment was there.

Any and most martial arts are great for both physical and mental awereness.
It all depends on the trainer, and what outcome you expect.

Ditto on what he said except I went to a school for (SP! Get ready for it) Ti kwon do. I did a few years when I was young. BEst shape of my life.

At my age Qigong is the only traing I do
But I can still make myself invisible to the world around me.
Qigong helps me stay in shape and keep my self in check.
It keeps me humble and very capable to walk with a 4 foot 1 3/4 OD peace of bamboo through the wood's and roads of our world.
helping me keep my Chee. How every you spell it :-D