Max lift on stock guides and seals?

-

DaveBonds

Garage Trash
Reaction score
Coil clearances aside, what is the highest total lift that can be had on a factory, uncut LA head valve guide with a stock seal?

I'm no pro, but I have been told and have read .500. Of course if you factor in the loss from the 1.5 rocker than you might squeeze a little more.

Thanks, Bruce. That's what I'm reading and measuring loosely, with crude measuring tools. My mic's are at work! hahaha...

I don't think I'm going to freak out over cutting these guides. Especially on a set of used 1.5 rockers. I'm on a .489 exhaust lift, so I think I'll be ok.

Thanks, Bruce. That's what I'm reading and measuring loosely, with crude measuring tools. My mic's are at work! hahaha...

I don't think I'm going to freak out over cutting these guides. Especially on a set of used 1.5 rockers. I'm on a .489 exhaust lift, so I think I'll be ok.

You should be fine.

Dave,have personally seen a .480/.494 hyd,clear a stock valveguide.Using 340 replacement springs.

not to hyjack but I plan on putting a .507/.510 cam in my 340 with X heads. I have'nt measured anything yet but I'm wondering if i'm gonna have to do some extra machine work.

not to hyjack but I plan on putting a .507/.510 cam in my 340 with X heads. I have'nt measured anything yet but I'm wondering if i'm gonna have to do some extra machine work.

stock rockers...are not 1.5...probably close to 1.4...and you are going to lose another .010 lift due to the back pushrod angle in sb mopar..but if it was my engine I would check the clearance before I started the engine....

Dave,have personally seen a .480/.494 hyd,clear a stock valveguide.Using 340 replacement springs.

Good to know. I'm seeing a little room placing a 1/2" hex bar between the guide with the new seal on it and retainer.

And yeah, I figure I'm gonna lose some on original rockers.