My 340 build and pump gas questions

-

oliver

Reaction score
I just got around to calculating my actual static and dynamic compression ratios, looks like ill be sitting right at 10.42 static compression and 7.61 dynamic.... i thought the dynamic compression sounds a little low but i checked and rechecked things and it all computes like that.
Little info about the motor, 4.1" bore, 3.31" stroke, 68cc J heads, kb243's .026 out of the block, 7.5cc reliefs, 4.140 bore and .028" thick head gaskets, 6.123" con rod, 288 duration cam, 110 lsa.
Think this combo will run on 91 okay?

With 15 minutes in between posts, did ya think it was going to be a onslaught of reviews? This is not a live forum.

And no, your ratio is to high. You'll need to retard the timing alot in order to run it and that will be a big power loss.

I am no expert but something sticks out to me about your calculations. If those pistons are .026" above the deck and you're using a .028" gasket that usually compresses to .025" then you might want to look into that particular aspect of your measurements. I realize you have an open chamber but I would double check everything before I ran it.

Obviously you must be looking for 'quench' but you may have to get a thicker gasket, like an .039" or something. I suppose as long as everything checks out with your initial plans it could work but you would need to be 100% sure that nothing is going to make contact. I could be way off though.

To answer the question though, 10.42:1 might be right on the edge of pump 91. Guess it would have to be tuned right so as to not detonate. High c.r. 340s were what, 10.5:1 from the factory? But that was back when higher octane was readily available. Your cylinder pressure needs to be taken in to account somewhere.

With 15 minutes in between posts, did ya think it was going to be a onslaught of reviews? This is not a live forum.