64physhy

Reaction score
I've been working on building this for about 6 months now. Here's what's in it:
360 block, +.060
Eagle Forged Crank
Hughes Main Stud Girdle
Eagle H-Beam Rods
Hughes 3742 cam (237/242 dur)
KB 745 Forged Step-dish pistons with .030 milled off the step.
Hughes Ported Iron Ram Heads, 2.055 intake valves, beehive springs.
PRW Stainless 1.65:1 roller rockers with a Jomar rocker stud girdle
Port Matched Edelbrock Airgap RPM
Proform 750 racing carb
MSD E-curve distributor (on the way)

I'm thinking I should get close to 500 HP out of it. A bigger cam would get me over that.

P1010360.jpg

P1010362.JPG

Looks nice. You're not planning to hotrod it are you? :snakeman: How much block clearancing was necessary to fit the H-beam rods?

looks nice, a spacer under the carb will help with a few HP if you have the hood room.

ou812, don't know if I'll dyno or not. I need to check around and see what it runs to dyno. I'd prefer to break it in and get it tuned on a dyno before putting it in, but it depends on cost. I'm already way over budget on this.

'64 Cuda, Had to put about a 1/4" notch at the bottom of the bores for rod clearance.

1wild&crazyguy, Haven't bolted the intake on yet. I'll get some pics tomorrow.

EL5DEMON340, I have a 1" spacer I might use under the carb if I have the hood clearance.

if you haven't bolted up the intake 4 keeps, could you post pics of the intake ports?

Here are some crappy cell phone pics. I started by checking the gaskets on the heads, then on the intake. I used a Sharpie to mark the port openings and opened them up. I used telescoping gages to get a measurement of the openings, then opened up the ports as far in as I could reach. The bottleneck in all of them seemed to be about an inch inside the ports on the head side. The closer to the carb they get, they open up more. The glare on the second pic makes it look like they are all crooked, but they are not. This is my first time of doing this.

intake ports.jpg