Need big block help

-

LJ67barracuda340

Reaction score
I'm new to BBC (been SBC for life to far) and I'm trying to sort out a friends FiTech system. Also trying to figure out his engine. He thought the shop built him a stroked 440. They called it a 501. I found 246 8330-M on the block casting number. My research keeps coming up the block was born as a 426 Hemi.

Now my question is, it has AFR EZ 440 heads on it. Can a 440 head be bolted to a Hemi block? Is this common? The M doesn't show in the charts, what might that mean?

I also found G111 482XAB on the pad at the water neck. I'm still searching for the numbers by the starter. I think the cast date is dec 71.?

Is this combination possible,,, Thanks Larry I'll take pics if that'll help but we're not going in too deep for now.

Last edited:
sure it isn't a 426 wedge block? chrysler made a 361,413 and 426. all non hemi. or is it a mega block?? pictures would help.

sure it isn't a 426 wedge block? chrysler made a 361,413 and 426. all non hemi. or is it a mega block?? pictures would help.
No I'm not sure, every web site I looked at said 426 Hemi. The engine is built and running for a few years now in the car (63 Sport Fury Convert) What pics would help?

It’s not a hemi block.
Heads won’t bolt on and they don’t have wedge style motor mount ears.

440-EZ heads are from Indy.

However, None of what you’re asking about will have anything to do with tuning the EFI.

It’s not a hemi block.
Heads won’t bolt on and they don’t have wedge style motor mount ears.

440-EZ heads are from Indy.

However, None of what you’re asking about will have anything to do with tuning the EFI.
I am aware that the EFI is totally separate. We were just doing detective work on the engine. I'll post the dimensions and dyno numbers from the builder soon, I didn't think they were looking like a 440. I thought maybe they stroked a 400 for him but then I found the casting numbers. I'm just not up on my big block stuff, but learning. thanks