New Alternator/amp bypass set-up

-

SB69GTS

Reaction score
Working on cleaning up the wiring in the engine bay. I wanted to run the alternator wiring direct to starter relay with a circuit breaker with reset, bypass the amp meter, clean up connections there and run wiring to some sort of fusable distributon block. i also have a small underdash amp that needed direct power. I also purchased the headlight wiring and relay kit from rob (crackedback) to help out the headlights. After discussions with Rob, I decided I would draw up some kind of diagram for other member to see and chime in. Any comments are welcomed but please not ...I am not a electrical expert and used a program to the best of my abilities to try and draw this up for you guys to see.

Attachments

• New A-body Alternator Ampmeter Bypass.pdf
    414 KB · Views: 446
Basically sound. You mean "starter relay" (per drawing). The "solenoid" is part of the starter (thing that goes "clunk"). Your wire sizes seem a bit thick to me. 4 awg to the fuse box seems over-kill, especially since your new amp is direct-wired. The factory used 12 awg. I expect your amp turns off so it doesn't drain your battery while sitting. For a 70 A square-back alternator, 6 awg cable is probably fine. I recall that is what Magnum engines used (re-purposed that harness for my Dart). Some here have run 0 awg welding cable from their alternator, but seems silly and far beyond what Ohm might suggest. Copper is heavy and isn't cheap.

According to schematic you have Fuse Box, Light Swt. and Ign Swt. tied together by gray wires near amp bypass to 2- 25amp fuses at distribution box. Is that what you meant to do? I would think they would be separate to distribution box.

A pair of parallel no10 would be plenty big to feed the new fuse panel. I agree with Bill, no no4 is needed

You specify no6 from the alternator, no6 from the breaker to starter relay is large enough, and probably overkill.