No dash lights

-

73dartneedswork

Reaction score
I'm putting my 73 Swinger back together after painting the car, dash and instrument cluster. All my lights previously worked before I tore the car down.

I don't have dash lights.
I'm not getting power at the orange wire on the cluster connector. I do have power on the red wire on the cluster connector.

I have power at the tan taillight wire coming off of the headlight switch when I turn on the headlights.

My glove box light, radio and map light work however my map light stays on all the time.

My ash light, and heater control don't light up.

When I use a tester on cavity seven of the fuse block I have power on the tan wire, but I don't have power on the two orange wires on the other side.

I'm not good at electrical and I'm stumped. Any advice would be appreciated.

So is the fuse for sure good? That is what it sounds like

Tail light circuit feeds power TO the dimmer circuit. Power goes THROUGH the dimmer and TO the tan wire, tan wire feeds power TO the inst. fuse,

THROUGH the inst. fuse, and TO the orange wire side of the fuse

If you have power on the Tan Wire leaving the HL switch to the fuse Box, but not the orange wires on the other side of the fuse it would seem the fuse is blown.

Do you have a map light Switch? If so flip it the other direction.

Glove box & Map normally are tapped of the Red Lighter feed. So it would make sense they are working.

The radio light normally is tapped on the oranges so I would think it should not be working.

73's maybe way different than earlier years so I could be entirely wrong.

Search threads for the wiring diagrams/manuals.

Good Luck..

I thought I had a good fuse but it wasn't. I put in a new fuse and it blew immediately.
I think the wiring is messed up on my map light, I'm getting constant power to the light even with the switch disconnected.

Where do I look now?

I really appreciate the help.