number of "coats" of paint

-

rj72cda

Reaction score
I ve not been painting cars for a long time but the guy i have learned from has about 10 painting certifications and does great work and uses the newest tech in paint when he can. Does the idea of a LARGE number of coats really still "make" a better job or is that restorers using old technology
im not sure someone saying i have 15 coats of clear makes me want that car ( i have bought cars with clear falling off) just a question for Pro body paint guys

i use two coats of base and three coats of clear. i am not a pro, but paint alot of cars!

I have painted one with single stage enamel, came out good easy to cut and buff and one with base clear easy to keep up just heard a couple guys trying to sell some cars with 15 coats of clear and i think why not just vinyl wrap the clear on haha

Well back in the Lacquer days you needed alot of coats but now with urethane base coats can range from 3 -5 coats depending on colour and clear if your going to water sand and polish up to 4 or 5.

Black primer...EZ touch ups! Gets dirty fast though...

Guy that painted my car has been painting for 50 years. He shot 4 coats of clear, gave it a wet sanding & then another 4 coats. I think it looks fantastic, you can read the serial # of a dollar bill in it.....He told me that if you only shoot 2-3 coats of clear there simply is not much left after you get done wet sanding it....

PPG school said 3 to 5 color and 2 to 3 clear and if it was going to buff the piss out it I. Would put 4

That's about what we do at school. 3 color and 3 clear. If we know we will be doing a bunch of wet sanding we go with 4 coats of clear.

We do very little wet sanding but 95% of the time we are simply trying to match a factory finish.