Opinions: Cam Swap or not

-

daves66valiant

68 Dart 340/727:66 Signet Vert 340/5spd: 68 D100
Reaction score
First off I have never run this engine before and have never had a car with this much power before. I think it is currently more geared towards racing but it could be a streetable car with everything I have setup right now to avoid detonation issues. I've heard this cam is a slug until 3000 rpm.

The cam that's in the 340 right now is a Comp 292. I'm sure some of you are familiar with this cam. Here are the specs of the cam:
duration 244
lift .501
10.1 c/r unsure if zero decked. maybe 9.5 if not decked
650 demon carb + four hole spacer
rpm performer intake
3.91 gears 5-speed
91 octane
timing 34, all in pretty quick

I'm hoping I do well with this combination for a street car, but have been tossing the idea of changing the cam to something a little more modern/updated. This would be the time to do it since the engine is still out of the car. I have never done a cam swap before but I think I would be able to reuse everything (lifters, springs, rods, etc) Was thinking of the Comp xe274 or something like it to keep me in the 400hp range.

I'm wondering if I should just run with what I've got for now. This way I could tell the difference in any changes I would make in the future. I'm kinda leaning towards this, but don't look forward to tearing the engine down in the future. If the gains are substaintial in getting a diff cam that is radical but not too radical for street then I'll go for it.

What do you guys think? Thanks.:burnout:

Hope I read your post right.

No experience with the cam itself, but wanted to make sure you knew that you need to get new lifters with the new cam if you go that route.

I'd also have the springs checked for the correct height and pressure. Myself, if I get a cam I buy lifters and matching springs at the same time. Then have the springs correctly set on the head so all is okay.