Overheating after Thermostat Change out

-
Reaction score
Installed a new Duralast Thermostat #15479 in my 1968 Plymouth Barracuda 318 5.2L

First time taking it out - High Heat (temp gauge 90%) almost 1 minute into the trip. Never overheated before this. I was just Updating parts due to this being the Original thermostat. :banghead:

The new Thermostat failed to say "Toward radiator" as the old ones did.
1. Is It possible I've installed it Backwards (Not Upside obviously)

Any suggestions will be greatly appreciated.

Now I'm a Noob forum and Mechanical wise. Please take it easy on me.
I'm just trying to keep my Grandpa's memory alive with his car

Well there'll be a big debate on the Temp rating but I would get an OEM one. I'd get 180*

It could work like that if it's in backwards.

Just in case, they go in like this.
The (thermometer) side always goes toward the engine.

Attachments

• engine_therrmostat.jpg
    26.5 KB · Views: 550
Used to be a parts manager at Autozone.Warrantied the Duralast stats often.Take it back,ask for the Mr Gasket stat.Same as the old Robert Shaw stats.

Okay. Replaced the 195 with a 180 thermo (which I tested first and it worked)

It sorta kinda fixed the heat issue. Instead of it running around 90% on the stock gauge its now in the 50-75%.

Originally it only ran in about 25-40 range.

What gives? Is 50-75 normal and or Okay?
Thanks so far for your help it's really appreciated.

Could it be your old thermostat was stuck open a bit, never letting engine warm up fully? Now with new unit installed, opening and closing as is should, has unmasked a partially plug radiator or other cooling system deficiencies. If you suspect a lower coolant hose collapse impeding flow, that is a symptom of a plugged radiator restricting coolant flow.