Point me in the right direction

-

pacuda59

pacuda59
Reaction score
Let me start by saying I'm not a mechanic. Up till this point, my passion has been woodworking.

I learned to drive on a 65 Dart, /6, three on the tree. The car was parked outside most of the winter and had over 150K before the speedometer broke. I never had a problem starting the car or did it ever need an extended warm-up.

Thirty two years later I buy the 69 Barracuda, /6, auto. It takes about a minute to get it started and then it needs to warm up for about 5 minutes before I can drive it without stalling, particularly in reverse. The seller claimed it had recently been tuned and it looks like it, new distributor cap, gas filter, plugs, wires...etc.

What should I be focusing on to get this old girl to start up and run smoothly?

Thirty two years later I buy the 69 Barracuda, /6, auto. It takes about a minute to get it started and then it needs to warm up for about 5 minutes before I can drive it without stalling, particularly in reverse. The seller claimed it had recently been tuned and it looks like it, new distributor cap, gas filter, plugs, wires...etc.

What should I be focusing on to get this old girl to start up and run smoothly?

Some sellers will just about say anything to sell a car. Make sure all the parts he mentioned are in fact new.Pull the plugs,and see if they are new.
Do the wires,cap,rotor,look new ?
If the car has been sitting for awhile,a carb rebuild can't hurt. As Joe mentioned,make sure the choke is working correctly. Also,make sure the carb (a/f,idle)is adjusted correctly. Make sure it is getting a good shot of gas when you hit the accelerator.
Make sure the Heat Riser on the exhaust is functioning properly. It should spin freely, if not use a penetrating oil to free it up.
Adjust the timming.
Adjust the valves.
These should get you in the ballpark of a good running car.
Find yourself a factory service manual, and a mechanic buddy for help.