push rod length help

-

1qwikScamp

Reaction score
hey guys i could really use your help. i am building a 408 for my scamp and i am using an early 90s 360 roller block but has the oiling provisions for LA style heads. i am running a hughes hyd roller cam and mopar hyd roller lifters i have comp 1.5 roller rockers on my LA style eddy heads. i have measured my push rod length with the checker sent to me from hughes and i have it set it where i have a good contact patch for the rocker right in the center of the valve, over the entire lift of the cam. but my problem is that the push rod seems short to me. it is accually shorter than the factory magnum push rod and much shorter than a factory LA push rod does this seem right to you guys i have never used one of theese "hybrid" blocks before and just wonderring if i am in the ball park o this

You need to check visually for a straight line sighted from the lifter up through the adjusting screw on the rocker @55 percent of valve lift. The pushrod should be in a straight line with the lifter at that point in travel. The rocker being centered on the valve tip shows that your rocker geometry is good which has nothing to do with the push rod length on an LA motor. The adjustable pushrod is for measuring pushrods that will be the correct length to accomplish a straight line @55 percent of lift with the rocker making contact with the valve tip in the center of the valve which you already have.