Reassembly

-

Hambony58

Reaction score
So I am moving from California to South Carolina I have a 65 dodge dart that is up on jackstands and has the left drivers side suspension disassembled. Can anybody give me order of reassembly? I am not going to put the custom parts on but need to get it back together drop it down on the ground and get it rolling so it can be transported. Any help would be appreciated I am not a great mechanic by any stretch of the imagination

I would do LCA and strut rod, torsion bar, UCA, spindle, then brakes and shock.

Wheel last, of course.

Wheel last, of course.

slide the torsion bar into the trans crossmember first, then do the above.
Yes the lower control arm and strut rod must be installed together then OK to loosely start nuts on both.
Then install torsion bar with LCA all the way down, don't worry to much about clocking since you're gonna remove everything before you drive it.
Don't tighten anything till torsion bar is "home" and clip is installed.
Best to do LCA last, after you're OK with ride height, but no need to torque anything since its coming apart anyway.

Last edited:
slide the torsion bar into the trans crossmember first, then do the above.
Yes the lower control arm and strut rod must be installed together then OK to loosely start nuts on both.
Then install torsion bar with LCA all the way down, don't worry to much about clocking since you're gonna remove everything before you drive it.
I just need to move the car into a car carrier is it necessary to reinstall the torsion bar? It might put a lot of pressure on the shock mount? Without it that is

Wheel last, of course.[/QUO

Definitely reinstall the torsion bar. How else are you gonna keep the car off the ground?

Haha, just trying the least amount of labor, is there a trick to ‘loading’ the T-bar?

Yes, you need the bar!
Not sure the tire would have enough clearance to steer or make it up the loading ramps.
Bars are much easier to install than they are to remove!!!