Rotating exhaust valves

-

OLFOOL

OLFOOL
Reaction score
Never noticed before but the J heads I have just bought, the exhaust valve once fitted I can rotate the valve when the locks are fitted, is this normal as I am quite new to small blocks. thanks.

Sounds like the installed height is off, or the spring pressure might not be up to snuf. If the stock springs with a ''rotator'' removed, that may be the problem.

Not original installed height or springs, never seen a seen or heard of 'rotators' before asking the question. I've only worked on a couple of SB heads previously and didn't run into this issue, been advised that it's not a drama if the valves can rotate as they are.

Do you mean you can rotate the valves by hand? Are you gripping the stem with pliers to do this?

Is the valve closed, with spring pressure holding it closed? If so somethings wrong..

Rotators replaced with standard retainers & the stock spring could cause that...

Mostly Mopar used multi groove locks that allow the exhaust valves to rotate but don't use rotators... But there are some engines with rotators....

Anything the least bit performance oriented rotators get scrapped... On semi serious performance builds multi groove keepers get scrapped...

thumbnail_IMG_8633.jpg

Rotators work great but the problem is you have to run a short spring so it limits you to small cams. Mostly used on industrial engines.

Rotators work great but the problem is you have to run a short spring so it limits you to small cams. Mostly used on industrial engines.
I've never been convinced they ever really worked at all. As many burned exhaust valves as I've seen through the years that had rotators, you just caint prove it by me.

Some damn week valve springs if you can rotate a valve while it's sitting on it's seat!