rusty old steel...

-

ir3333

Reaction score
Seems like every time i turn around i'm bleeding and have another cut or
scrape working on my cars.How many of you guys keep up on a tetanus shot?

It's recommended people like us get a tetanus yearly and if your in any type of sanitation work to keep a DTAP vaccination I believe every seven years, but it was a while back when a Virginia Dept of Health nurse told me that. It was during vaccination for Hep. A and Hep. B, which is a three shot cycle for each over a certain period of days, around two months and done with those for life. That being said, it's not really yours until you bleed on it!

Last edited:
I got one last year while at a physical. Prior to that it had been a while. Cant hurt to get it.

I'm not a doctor, but if a cut bleeds your usually okay, the ones that don't bleed or are a puncture are the ones to worry about. Bleeding cleans it out

A nurse asked when my last tetanus booster was and I figured about 10 years ago. So I was due for another one and got a shot in the arm. I was supposed to go back for a second follow-up one a few months later, but never did. Tetanus "lockjaw" stories as a kid used to scare the heck out of me.

I've had my own jaws wired shut twice and it's' no fun (collision one year and follow-up re-constructive surgery the next year).

A nurse asked when my last tetanus booster was and I figured about 10 years ago. So I was due for another one and got a shot in the arm. I was supposed to go back for a second follow-up one a few months later, but never did. Tetanus "lockjaw" stories as a kid used to scare the heck out of me.

I've had my own jaws wired shut twice and it's' no fun (collision one year and follow-up re-constructive surgery the next year).
Good thing is tetanus is killed easy, let the wound bleed like said earlier and pour hydrogen peroxide on it. I have never heard of anyone who had lockjaw.