speedmaster 2.02 valve heads on a 318

-

moparmat2000

Reaction score
Hi Y'all,

I have a stock 74 318. I plan on a rebuild, prob .030" overbore. I have a set of speedmaster 65cc aluminum heads set up for 2.02, 1.60 valves.

I know the intake side is going to be shrouded a little bit, and i will be using a 360 head gasket.

With flattops at a 0 deck height, my calculator is telling me i will have 10.22 to 1 in static compression

My machinest isnt a mopar guy, and keeps telling me the intake valve is going to be shrouded too much, and that i'm not going to like the results with this big of an intake valve. I said why not turn back the intake valve margin a little bit to decrease its outside diameter, and unshroud the cylinder walls where the intake valve is.

I know folks make 318s run w big valves. Is there just a stigma about this with the non mopar crowd? I mean maybe clearance issues with 2.02s on a 305 chevy that makes non mopar guys bang their heads and say it wont work with a 318s 3.910" bore.

This guy is a good machinest. The best in my town, but im wondering if he just has tunnel vision on this one.

He says find a 360 and be done with it. Not as easily done out here i want to build an LA engine. 360 LA blocks are hard to find out here, and 318s are cheap to free.

I have been looking at 390 stroker kits as well, still have that bore and valve clearance issue.

Can anybody help
Matt

Run 'em! The 2.02 barely enters the bore. You can run a 2.05" intake in a 318. AND what about the other 90% of the larger valve that isn't anywhere near the bore? Do you suppose it won't flow anymore air than a 1.78 or 1.88.

I run a '74 318 .030" over flat tops with unported 2.02 J heads and it screams. The people that say it's too much valve are the ones that never tried it. I had a set of fully ported small valve heads on it before and it runs better with the 2.02s. That's my experience.