Stereo suggestions, thoughts, ideas?

-

coffeedart67

Reaction score
I'm sure there is other forums I could ask this on, but you guys won't beat me down because I don't know the answers or if it is a stupid idea. Not sure if this should go here or electrical.
I have an underdash Panasonic 8-track with a fm radio cartridge in my Dart convertible. I would like to put an amp on it to boost the volume a little. What should I look for in an amp(don't want a thumper system)? The 8 track only has wires for 2 speakers, if I add an amp could I then have 4 speakers? I am thinking of finding some better speakers and mounting them under the edge of the rear seat and possibly in the front kick panels. I am also thinking of adding a redirad so I could plug in mp3 or satellite radio.
Thoughts? Ideas? Suggestions?
Thanks
Aaron

You need an amp with speaker level inputs that will use your existing speaker wires for amp inputs. you should be able to drive four speakers from there. I'm not an expert in this area but do know some. I would talk to an expert (like Crutchfield) before you invest money only to find it won't work together. This should work for what you are trying to do.
As far as speaker location, I did what you are talking about and it worked out great. You will need to do some homework on speaker size goes though because you have very little room to get it right.
Here's a link. On the last page is my install.

http://www.forabodiesonly.com/mopar/showthread.php?t=176535&page=2

I saw your thread earlier so I will give you the credit for the rear speaker location. I had thought about gutting the 8 track and hinging the front and putting an am/fm cd player in the housing, but just can't bring myself to do it.
aaron