Struggling at work - looking for tips.

-

rmchrgr

Skate And Destroy
Reaction score
Thought I'd give this a shot here. I have had a rash of things come back at work ( I am a tech) for really stupid things. I'll be honest though and say the ones that really are bad are loose/missing fasteners. Case in point; the other day I did a brake job. I took the brakes apart, cut the rotors, re installed everything but only finger tightened the caliper bolts on the left side. I guess my attention turned to something else when it was time for me to cinch them down and I failed to go back and torque them properly. I put everything back together and even road tested the car (which I always do) before I sent it on it's way. Of course it came back the next day with a 'noise'. Naturally, both bolts were gone. I was pretty upset with myself at how this could have happened but whatever. Luckily, I was able to find the correct bolts and get it solved but clearly it could have been pretty bad. Sure, everyone makes mistakes but when this type of thing happens consistently, it becomes an issue.

I know that I have to 'slow down' and 'be more careful' but that's not really the point here. I am a thorough person and take pride in any job I do no matter how simple. I am not careless, lazy or stupid. Problem is I apparently have a tendency to lose focus/rush/skip/forget simple steps and often get tripped up by small details. On the surface I'm sure this makes it look like I'm careless or that there is a disconnect between my hands and brain. What I need here are tips on how to minimize these types of mistakes when time is at a minimum. Even the slightest distraction can spell disaster for me sometimes.

How do you guys double check your work before sending it on it's way? Do you use a checklist of some sort? Clearly, a 3 mile road test will not always reveal a mistake.