Strut Rod Bushing???

-

mopowers

Reaction score
I need to buy strut rod bushings and have a couple questions since I've never done this before. I'm looking at buying the Moog 'improved' k7040 bushings. Do these come with an inner sleeve? Is the sleeve even necessary? It seems like it'd be impossible to reach the torque value without a sleeve because the rubber would just squish.

Thanks guys! I appreciate the help.

mog-k7040_xl.jpg

Thanks sir! I forgot to mention- the car is a 68 Dart.

Will I be able to reach the 40 ft-lbs without squishing the rubber out? Or do you just snug them up?

The moog kit comes with instructions. Follow them concerning washer placement etc and your good to go. Make sure you torque the front and rear strut rod nuts at ride height.

I've used the moog parts and like them the best.

I would take them against the shoulder. The problem with these setups on both styles is they need to be secure from moving up and down. squashing the steps into the K-member hole is the only way. If not the strut rod will move up and down and destroy the rubber. Could also wear the k member and rod. Ask me how I know.

I just did this job and used poly's. I think they were cheap. They came with 4 bushings and 2 sleeves. They are from energy suspension part number 5.7109G and you have the flat side towards the crossmember and the half moon side towards the outer washers. [(|--|)] Hope that makes sense lol. You prob already have the lca bushing part number- but here it is K791. I put these on my 74 duster and I just did this job the last 2 days. Definitely want to take apart at lower ball joint. I just took my calipers off the discs but messed up and hooked up both upper and lower ball joints and waited till last to hook up calipers-normal thinking right?? That's what I thought till my dumb arss had to take the brake hose off the calipers to route it behind the spindle area lol.