Thoughts on cam?

-

Saetun

Sinister Swinger
Reaction score
I have been putting together a few pieces to get the old 318 moving a lil better. currently have performer intake with holley 600 and was looking to match a cam down the road to it. Many have recommended the 340 cam and I like the idea. I came across a very decent deal for this crane cam which seems comparable. Before i make a bad purchase I wanted to get some opinions. My end goal is about 300 hp for a weekend spirited driving. other than the above bolt ons the only other plans I have include headers & a little head porting. I appreciate your opinions.

Crane cams # 150052

http://www.summitracing.com/parts/CRN-150052/

Thx Kim...

Isn't the duration on MP 340 cam 268/276? I'm sorry I'm new to speccing cams.

My cousin had that exact cam in his 72 dart,all stock rebuilt 318 .030 (8.5 compression,no head porting)performer intake,600 holley headers and 3.23s.He had a 2k stall,904 trans w/mild kit and recurved stock points dist.,the cam sounded great and ran great,he got 12 mpg and ran 14.70 at 95 mph with stock tires and a terrible 2.10 60 ft.I think its a great cam if your combo matches,not real radical but a good lope and great throttle response.Heres his engine.

Attachments

• P6240143.jpg
    111.6 KB · Views: 143
Where should my stall speed be for a cam like like this & would that also hold true for the MP 340 cam? Also, what is the stock stall on the 904?

Specs looked really close to the 340 cam specs & if its similar performance I think I'd be pleased. Plus I cant beat the price with a bat. But again, if its a terrible fit without upgrading my converter I may just let it go. Thx again. I'm trying hard to reduce my learning curve.

Thx Kim...

Isn't the duration on MP 340 cam 268/276? I'm sorry I'm new to speccing cams.