Torque converter help.

-

Sweetjones

Reaction score
I'm new to the world of mopar and I need some help. I have a 75 duster with a 727 trans that is original to the car. I'm looking for a stall converter to replace the stock converter. My question is that the stock converter has the flywheel made on it and it is all one unit that bolts to the flexplate. The ones I'm seeing on jegs and summit are just the converter and you have to buy the flywheel separate. So if I buy a separate flywheel does that just bolt to the flexplate or does it replace the flexplate? Also will there be any clearance issues? I'm also aware that they are weighted and that's another thing I'm not sure about. Could someone just point me in the right direction on this issue. I have a mildly built 340 and I'm lookin for a 2700 to 3000 stall converter. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

If you're running a 727 behind that 340, you don't need an aftermarket flexplate for what you're wanting to do. An aftermarket converter will bolt right up. I would recommend picking up some ARP torque converter bolts while you're at it though.

From experience, it's not THAT much more expensive to contact a converter company (PTC, Hughes, TCI,etc) to see what they would recommend for your combo. A converter built for YOUR car makes a world of difference.

Is your 340 a forged, or cast crank? That determines if you need a weighted converter or not.

Forged is what the guy said that sold it to me so who really knows. The stock converter had one small rectangle weight on it if I remember correctly.

. My question is that the stock converter has the flywheel made on it and it is all one unit that bolts to the flexplate. The ones I'm seeing on jegs and summit are just the converter and you have to buy the flywheel separate. .

You are probably seeing a generic photo. So far as I know, all mopars have the starter ring gear on the converter.