Tuff steering wheel... to restore or not to restore??

-

lebdog74

Reaction score
First of all I'm still learning so forgive my ignorance. I've been looking at steering wheels for my 74 Duster. I've been looking at different styles online and I was getting ready to one. i decided to get one that looks similar to the one that came with the car. While I was looking for that style,(thinking it was an aftermarket wheel to begin with), I came across the Tuff wheel and realized that it looks alot like what I had. So today i went and took my wheel off and it had a Mopar part number. I punched it in to google and sure enough it came up as the Tuff steering wheel. Problem is the previous owner took and siliconed a steering wheel cover to it, which is why I was going to replace it. Now that I know it is a Tuff wheel do I try to find someone that can restore it or do I just get an aftermarket one that I like. I did call a company I found online and they said it would be atleast $300, which is way out of my budget.

a pic of its condition would go a ways here. at any rate there is a tuff wheel here for sale around 100 bucks. year one sells them repopped for less too. i wouldnt spend 300 bucks to fix it. but thats just me. i found one in a junkyard in a dodge ramcharger in great shape for 15.00 ...good luck

My leather wrapped reproduction Tuff wheel wasn't $200?!?

column007Medium.jpg