upgrading my 360

-

ef8340

Reaction score
hopefully by this weekend i'll have my duster sold and with the extra cash im planing on fixing my dart it has a 88 360 motor in it and its pretty much new but it has a R/V style cam im wanting to wake it up alittle more so far my motor has a 650 thunder series eldebrock carb and a performer 318/360 intake, headers, 904 trans with a high performace valve body stock stall and a 8 3/4 rear 3:23's. i also have a M1 single plain intake aswell but i want to be able to drive my car on a regular basis. so far i've selected a cam kit from summit K20-223-3 im thinking this is the 268XE not sure though.
i'd like to get a noticible cam sound and very responsive
thanks for any imput

I'm not an expert but I'll weigh in. According to Comp's catalog, that is a good street machine cam, and works with a stock convertor. I'd use the Performer intake as it's a dual plane. That and a decent set of headers ought to wake your 360 up pretty nicely!!

Use the performer, the M1 needs alot of compression and cam.

The M1 single plane is a 3000-6500 rpm intake.

Go with the performer RPM intake. I just put one of those on my 360 with a 650 carb and I can def. feel a difference. Also if you have money get the heads worked over.

well i sold the duster so i now have the cash to do this. i've been researching this and i have another ? for you all. my 360 is a 88-89 year and im pretty sure it has the roller cam in it. im getting the comp cam kit K20-223-3 268XE cam will this cam kit be a roller cam aswell? it looks like it is not from the pic on the summit site. also if not will i need to get different length pushrods? Push rod length changed from about 7.5” down to 6.78”, and diameter shrunk from 0.360” to 0.3125”? if so will stock 318's work?

That is a Hyd. Cam. You need to read the full description of the part before ordering. The Summit site has a disclaimer on there pictures.