W5 head oiling questions.

-

dart19666

FABO Gold Member
FABO Gold Member
Reaction score
Here is the issues that my friend is having. I have never worked with W5's before so dont know all the tricks to fix this. First problem is that a chevy guy build this for him. Second problem low oil pressure. I took the intake off and found that oil is just pouring out when the solid roller lifter is going over the nose of the cam. Like a quart a minute pouring out. I know that the lifter is unshrouding the main oil galley and that's what causing the problem. One more piece of info is that the heads are oiled thru the pushrods, and the head has T&D paired rocker arms. The cam is a solid roller with 0.700" at the valve.

So now for the question. What lifter do you W5 people run to keep this from happening? Special lifter? Do you bush the lifter with a small oil hole to feed oil up top? Any help would be appreciated because I live on the west coast and all shops on the east coast are closed till Monday. :violent1::banghead:

The first problem is the main problem to a point so bad I onky pray it isn't time for a near complete and total rebuild and/or repurchase of parts. Since a decent machinist would have looked things over before sending it out the door.

Who's solid lifters are being used in what year block?

Some blocks have taller tappet bosses then others.
Some roller lifters have oil bands to high on the lifter that will cause it to leak oil like a gun shot to the neck.
Was any work done to the tappet bores?

There's a lot to cover here.

Tony AKA AARcuda (IIRC cause I'm tired)
Mike Listen (MRL)
OR OU812 should would know this pretty good. IIRC, Tony runs or has run a W5 set up. I'm still getting to mine now.

The first problem is the main problem to a point so bad I onky pray it isn't time for a near complete and total rebuild and/or repurchase of parts. Since a decent machinist would have looked things over before sending it out the door.