Wanting to build a garage (Need advice)

-

Suregrip391

Reaction score
Hi Guys, I'm no construction expert so I am going to throw this one out to those that have a lot more knowledge on this topic then I do. I want to build a 26'x36' garage with 10 foot walls. 8/12 roof pitch. My first question is, is that enough height for adding an automotive lift some day? seems like it would be "tight" but others say a 10 foot wall is enough. 6" minimum for concrete is also what I was told where the lift goes. Secondly, I want my garage to have attic storage so I have one contractor wanting to build it using attic storage trusses that give me a 5'x 10'wide attic storage walking space. This contractor wants to use actual plywood on the roof (not OSB because plywood will tie it all in and make it stronger) 24" on center.

I also have a second contractor wanting to "stick build" the roof, no trusses, just a ridge beam and roof rafters giving me an attic storage space of roughly 7'x10' walking (More head room this way!) and he says it cheaper to build. This guy will put them 16" on center and only use OSB on the roof....Not plywood like the first guy.

So here are my questions..whats better?

16" O.C. with OSB roof sheathing or 24" on center with plywood sheathing?

Is 10' walls enough for a lift?

Is it normally cheaper to "stick build" the roof or use prefab trusses? (labor and materials are to be considered when stick building).

Any help or advice is appreciated! I cannot go any higher due to town codes. I'm sure some of you have been down this road, whats some of the do's and dont's and wish I would have's ???........ They always say to build it larger then you need, I already factored that in...er'...did I??.... LOL

Yes, I did a couple years ago, I prefer going with a regular residential style garage, shingle roof, vinyl siding, gutters....