Water temp in Magnum (crate motor version). Where to place probe for gauge? Temp switch for fans?

Discussion in 'Magnum Engine Swaps' started by MRGTX, May 26, 2017.

  1. MRGTX

    MRGTX Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    467
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Location:
    CT, USA
    Local Time:
    7:32 PM
    Probably another noob question-- I have a probe for my water temp gauge and a switch for my electric fans.
    One should go in the manifold...what about the other? Does it matter?

    I'm not sure if it matters or not but the car is a Magnum 300 crate motor with LA style waterpump, etc. Mopar M2 manifold...

    Thanks for any help and for not laughing at my endless ignorance. :D
     
    Last edited: May 26, 2017
  2. 67Dart273

    67Dart273 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    38,043
    Likes Received:
    5640
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2010
    Location:
    Idaho
    View My Photos
    Local Time:
    5:32 PM
    If all else fails, you can buy aftermarket spacers that go under the t stat outlet with tappins in them..........just a random one to illustrate

    680-WN0028S.jpg
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Thanks! Thanks! x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • rumblefish360

      rumblefish360 so close yet so far away

      Messages:
      32,708
      Likes Received:
      4881
      Joined:
      Jun 21, 2005
      Location:
      New York, on a Island
      View My Photos
      Local Time:
      8:32 PM
      Exactly what I was thinking of. I have one from *I think* it says Joe's Performance. I'll edit this when I get home......
       
    • jbc426

      jbc426 Well-Known Member

      Messages:
      1,539
      Likes Received:
      409
      Joined:
      May 30, 2007
      Location:
      West Coast
      Local Time:
      5:32 PM
      The hottest water travels out past the thermostat, through the radiator hose to the radiator's upper inlet. That adapter fits in an ideal place as long as you don't have a stuck thermostat.
       
      • Thanks! Thanks! x 1
      • MRGTX

        MRGTX Well-Known Member

        Messages:
        1,491
        Likes Received:
        467
        Joined:
        Sep 24, 2007
        Location:
        CT, USA
        Local Time:
        7:32 PM
        Thanks to everyone.

        I found this one. One review notes that it specifically does not fit the Manifold on his Magnum 360 despite seeing that it's compatible with Mopar small blocks. Is there anything unique about Magnum engines and their manifolds that I need to look for?

        https://www.summitracing.com/parts/mez-wn0028s

        The reviewer said that his manifold was an Edelbrock, fwiw.
         
      • 67Dart273

        67Dart273 Well-Known Member

        Messages:
        38,043
        Likes Received:
        5640
        Joined:
        Oct 14, 2010
        Location:
        Idaho
        View My Photos
        Local Time:
        5:32 PM
        Don't know unless it's the stat size which changed. I don't remember, I think the newer stats were smaller diameter? At leas one Ed I have is drilled for both stat patterns.........Like this

        131542349266_1.jpg
         
        Last edited: May 29, 2017
        • Thanks! Thanks! x 1
        • jbc426

          jbc426 Well-Known Member

          Messages:
          1,539
          Likes Received:
          409
          Joined:
          May 30, 2007
          Location:
          West Coast
          Local Time:
          5:32 PM
          I don't know off the top of my head, but I can snap some pics of my Magnum EFI Airgap if you need them.

          Also, grab one of those hand-held laser temperature guns from Harbor Freight or EBay. They really come in handy for learning what's what as far as normal temps are on your motor.
           
          • Like Like x 1
          • MRGTX

            MRGTX Well-Known Member

            Messages:
            1,491
            Likes Received:
            467
            Joined:
            Sep 24, 2007
            Location:
            CT, USA
            Local Time:
            7:32 PM
            Quick question to follow up on this- using the part suggested above that extends the thermostat housing, the thermostat interferes with the temp probes (gauge and fan sensor)...is there an optional thermostat design that is shorter in the vertical dimension?

            How much damage might I do for driving around with no thermostat in the meantime? It does eventually get up to operating temps.
             
          • rumblefish360

            rumblefish360 so close yet so far away

            Messages:
            32,708
            Likes Received:
            4881
            Joined:
            Jun 21, 2005
            Location:
            New York, on a Island
            View My Photos
            Local Time:
            8:32 PM
            Can you post a pic of the temp unit sender please?

            No damage... don’t drive it until it knocks or steam escapes.
             
          • MRGTX

            MRGTX Well-Known Member

            Messages:
            1,491
            Likes Received:
            467
            Joined:
            Sep 24, 2007
            Location:
            CT, USA
            Local Time:
            7:32 PM
            I thought everyone waited for the steam and the knocking before doing 0-100 pulls! :D

            I'll see if I can find a pic of the probe. Basically, it's a ~1" long, ~3/8" diameter cylinder connected to a capillary tube. Not sure if that helps...
             
          • 67Dart273

            67Dart273 Well-Known Member

            Messages:
            38,043
            Likes Received:
            5640
            Joined:
            Oct 14, 2010
            Location:
            Idaho
            View My Photos
            Local Time:
            5:32 PM
            FUNNY!!!! In a slow moment my super and I were just discussing yesterday how "unhandy" it was that Ma did not make it easy to install mechanical temp gauges!!!! Too bad Mopar did not go to a head mounted setup like Chev. that is lower in the coolant, and if you get a leak, won't leave the sensor "high and dry"
             
            • Agree Agree x 1
            • moparmike98

              moparmike98 Well-Known Member

              Messages:
              58
              Likes Received:
              5
              Joined:
              Aug 25, 2014
              Location:
              nekoosa wisconsin
              Local Time:
              7:32 PM
              Did anyone give this a shot and how did it turn out? This seems like the simplest way to have a mechanical temp gauge. All the ports I found on the m1 were too small for the fitting.
               
            • Mike69cuda

              Mike69cuda 63 is the new 17 FABO Gold Member

              Messages:
              197
              Likes Received:
              101
              Joined:
              Jan 2, 2018
              Location:
              Overland Park Kansas
              Local Time:
              7:32 PM
              Mine has an aftermarket temp gauge in an aluminum piece that you cut the top radiator hose in half and install. Don’t really like the looks of it all that much but it works good.
               
            • rumblefish360

              rumblefish360 so close yet so far away

              Messages:
              32,708
              Likes Received:
              4881
              Joined:
              Jun 21, 2005
              Location:
              New York, on a Island
              View My Photos
              Local Time:
              8:32 PM
              This will fit the standard early thermostat housing. You’ll have to poke around for a smaller one.

              image.jpg
               
            • 67Dart273

              67Dart273 Well-Known Member

              Messages:
              38,043
              Likes Received:
              5640
              Joined:
              Oct 14, 2010
              Location:
              Idaho
              View My Photos
              Local Time:
              5:32 PM
              Some brands of gauges have adapters available (the gauge fitting is proprietary) that bush down to 3/8 pipe, and I remember one with a small sensor probe that went clear down to 1/4" piple. This was an import, years ago