Water temp in Magnum (crate motor version). Where to place probe for gauge? Temp switch for fans?

Discussion in 'Magnum Engine Swaps' started by MRGTX, May 26, 2017.

  1. MRGTX

    MRGTX Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,410
    Likes Received:
    425
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Local Time:
    4:10 AM
    Probably another noob question-- I have a probe for my water temp gauge and a switch for my electric fans.
    One should go in the manifold...what about the other? Does it matter?

    I'm not sure if it matters or not but the car is a Magnum 300 crate motor with LA style waterpump, etc. Mopar M2 manifold...

    Thanks for any help and for not laughing at my endless ignorance. :D
     
    Last edited: May 26, 2017
  2. 67Dart273

    67Dart273 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    37,140
    Likes Received:
    4884
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2010
    Location:
    Idaho
    View My Photos
    Local Time:
    2:10 AM
    If all else fails, you can buy aftermarket spacers that go under the t stat outlet with tappins in them..........just a random one to illustrate

    680-WN0028S.jpg
     
    • Thanks! Thanks! x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • rumblefish360

      rumblefish360 so close yet so far away

      Messages:
      31,554
      Likes Received:
      3909
      Joined:
      Jun 21, 2005
      Location:
      New York, on a Island
      View My Photos
      Local Time:
      5:10 AM
      Exactly what I was thinking of. I have one from *I think* it says Joe's Performance. I'll edit this when I get home......
       
    • jbc426

      jbc426 Well-Known Member

      Messages:
      1,499
      Likes Received:
      378
      Joined:
      May 30, 2007
      Location:
      West Coast
      Local Time:
      2:10 AM
      The hottest water travels out past the thermostat, through the radiator hose to the radiator's upper inlet. That adapter fits in an ideal place as long as you don't have a stuck thermostat.
       
      • Thanks! Thanks! x 1
      • MRGTX

        MRGTX Well-Known Member

        Messages:
        1,410
        Likes Received:
        425
        Joined:
        Sep 24, 2007
        Local Time:
        4:10 AM
        Thanks to everyone.

        I found this one. One review notes that it specifically does not fit the Manifold on his Magnum 360 despite seeing that it's compatible with Mopar small blocks. Is there anything unique about Magnum engines and their manifolds that I need to look for?

        https://www.summitracing.com/parts/mez-wn0028s

        The reviewer said that his manifold was an Edelbrock, fwiw.
         
      • 67Dart273

        67Dart273 Well-Known Member

        Messages:
        37,140
        Likes Received:
        4884
        Joined:
        Oct 14, 2010
        Location:
        Idaho
        View My Photos
        Local Time:
        2:10 AM
        Don't know unless it's the stat size which changed. I don't remember, I think the newer stats were smaller diameter? At leas one Ed I have is drilled for both stat patterns.........Like this

        131542349266_1.jpg
         
        Last edited: May 29, 2017
        • Thanks! Thanks! x 1
        • jbc426

          jbc426 Well-Known Member

          Messages:
          1,499
          Likes Received:
          378
          Joined:
          May 30, 2007
          Location:
          West Coast
          Local Time:
          2:10 AM
          I don't know off the top of my head, but I can snap some pics of my Magnum EFI Airgap if you need them.

          Also, grab one of those hand-held laser temperature guns from Harbor Freight or EBay. They really come in handy for learning what's what as far as normal temps are on your motor.
           
          • Like Like x 1
          • MRGTX

            MRGTX Well-Known Member

            Messages:
            1,410
            Likes Received:
            425
            Joined:
            Sep 24, 2007
            Local Time:
            4:10 AM
            Quick question to follow up on this- using the part suggested above that extends the thermostat housing, the thermostat interferes with the temp probes (gauge and fan sensor)...is there an optional thermostat design that is shorter in the vertical dimension?

            How much damage might I do for driving around with no thermostat in the meantime? It does eventually get up to operating temps.
             
          • rumblefish360

            rumblefish360 so close yet so far away

            Messages:
            31,554
            Likes Received:
            3909
            Joined:
            Jun 21, 2005
            Location:
            New York, on a Island
            View My Photos
            Local Time:
            5:10 AM
            Can you post a pic of the temp unit sender please?

            No damage... don’t drive it until it knocks or steam escapes.
             
          • MRGTX

            MRGTX Well-Known Member

            Messages:
            1,410
            Likes Received:
            425
            Joined:
            Sep 24, 2007
            Local Time:
            4:10 AM
            I thought everyone waited for the steam and the knocking before doing 0-100 pulls! :D

            I'll see if I can find a pic of the probe. Basically, it's a ~1" long, ~3/8" diameter cylinder connected to a capillary tube. Not sure if that helps...
             
          • 67Dart273

            67Dart273 Well-Known Member

            Messages:
            37,140
            Likes Received:
            4884
            Joined:
            Oct 14, 2010
            Location:
            Idaho
            View My Photos
            Local Time:
            2:10 AM
            FUNNY!!!! In a slow moment my super and I were just discussing yesterday how "unhandy" it was that Ma did not make it easy to install mechanical temp gauges!!!! Too bad Mopar did not go to a head mounted setup like Chev. that is lower in the coolant, and if you get a leak, won't leave the sensor "high and dry"
             
            • Agree Agree x 1