Welding machine help needed Hobart

Shop, Garage and Tools

  1. rod7515

    rod7515 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,626
    Likes Received:
    481
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    Location:
    Red Lion PA
    Local Time:
    7:03 AM
    I've been to busy this week to call anywhere about getting the welder repaired. I will do a quick check tonight on the things you have pointed out. I did try to run without an extention cord as someone else had mentioned but that did not help. I hope to call a repair facility today or tomorrow and get an idea of costs. I don't weld that often so I may decide not to fix it. It's just nice to have it when I need it. Thanks for the suggestions.
    Rod
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • YY1

      YY1 Well-Known Member

      Messages:
      7,882
      Likes Received:
      3522
      Joined:
      Oct 11, 2011
      Location:
      FL
      Local Time:
      7:03 AM
      You can loosen the tension where the feed roller pinches the wire, and see if you can pull the wire easily from the tip.

      There should be almost no resistance.

      If there is, you could have some crap in the sleeve, or a kink in the wire or the sleeve.

      Also sometimes the wire gets dirty if not used for a while.

      I've had to pull several feet out of mine before it pulled easily and would feed correctly once the feed roller was tightened to the wire properly.
       
      • Like Like x 1
      • Thanks! Thanks! x 1
      • rod7515

        rod7515 Well-Known Member

        Messages:
        1,626
        Likes Received:
        481
        Joined:
        Jul 18, 2013
        Location:
        Red Lion PA
        Local Time:
        7:03 AM
        YY1, are you talking about a wire feed problem (which I dont have or a lack of arc problem) which is what I am experiencing. When I try to weld the wire will get red for bout a .5" then the glow goes away but the wire will feed the entire time.
        Rod
         
      • barbee6043

        barbee6043 barbee 6043 FABO Gold Member

        Messages:
        14,300
        Likes Received:
        7080
        Joined:
        Jul 20, 2008
        Location:
        Shepherd, Texas ( SE Tx)
        Local Time:
        6:03 AM
        I bought one of those new Hobart back about 2000. I has never welded right. Like said above^^^^ I met a body shop guy that had same Hobart, he reversed the polarity and fixed his, did nothing for mine. I get it done, just won't buy another welder and sell this POS to soeone or throw it away!
         
      • ESP47

        ESP47 Well-Known Member

        Messages:
        1,829
        Likes Received:
        306
        Joined:
        Jul 3, 2009
        Location:
        Sacramento, CA
        Local Time:
        4:03 AM
        I have a hard time believing it's the extension cord unless it has some sort of damage to it or it's over 100ft at 14 gauge or smaller.
         
        • Agree Agree x 1
        • YY1

          YY1 Well-Known Member

          Messages:
          7,882
          Likes Received:
          3522
          Joined:
          Oct 11, 2011
          Location:
          FL
          Local Time:
          7:03 AM
          Welders are high amp draw machines.

          They come with a short, heavy gauge cord for a reason.
           
          • Agree Agree x 2
          • ESP47

            ESP47 Well-Known Member

            Messages:
            1,829
            Likes Received:
            306
            Joined:
            Jul 3, 2009
            Location:
            Sacramento, CA
            Local Time:
            4:03 AM
            I have a Hobart 140 and I'm 90% sure the cord is just a standard looking 14 gauge cord.
             
          • YY1

            YY1 Well-Known Member

            Messages:
            7,882
            Likes Received:
            3522
            Joined:
            Oct 11, 2011
            Location:
            FL
            Local Time:
            7:03 AM
            Not sure what the gauge is but it's only about 3 feet long.

            ...again, for a reason.
             
          • rod7515

            rod7515 Well-Known Member

            Messages:
            1,626
            Likes Received:
            481
            Joined:
            Jul 18, 2013
            Location:
            Red Lion PA
            Local Time:
            7:03 AM
            Well I had it at an electrical shop and the capacitor was bad but they couldnt check further until that was replaced. I gave the ok and he ordered it. Came in Yesterday and was installed only to find that the transformer is also bad and not available. This sucks because I had to pay for the capacitor. Why would the transformer not be available? Well looks like im going to be watching for another welder.

            Thanks for all the suggestions.
            Rod
             
          • Demonracer

            Demonracer 71 Demon 00 Ram 16 Chrysler 300S 05 Caravan FABO Gold Member

            Messages:
            5,036
            Likes Received:
            3027
            Joined:
            Jan 31, 2010
            Location:
            Cleveland, Texas
            Local Time:
            6:03 AM
            Go to different sites, here, the other Mopar sites, Craig's list & others to put out a wanted ad.
             
          • AUSA66

            AUSA66 Well-Known Member

            Messages:
            200
            Likes Received:
            265
            Joined:
            Nov 20, 2014
            Location:
            Perth
            Local Time:
            7:03 PM
            Sounds odd Capacitor ,Transformer the capacitor should not limit the output to such an extent & if the transformer was shorted it would be blowing fuses is the damage physically evident.
            The problem with a lot of these smaller machines is the torch cable people pull the machine around by torch & damages the conductor cable inside the current then goes through the welding wire to the tip rather than the copper conductor resulting in a small spark & sticking of the wire as it welds itself to the liner 1 way to check it is to removed the torch & connect it to a 12 vdc battery then connect the other to a jumper lead & try to start a car with it if you just get a click at the starter you will find the lead is bad.
            We repair a lot with the same fault mainly the Lincoln SP170 & Miller machines
             
            • Agree Agree x 1
            • SIX225

              SIX225 Well-Known Member

              Messages:
              144
              Likes Received:
              71
              Joined:
              Jan 31, 2016
              Location:
              Illinois
              Local Time:
              6:03 AM
              I wouldnt spend the money to replace the transformer. I dont think that's what's bad anyways. Is this an infinitely variable or stepped power machine? I'd be more suspicious of a bad switch if stepped. Take it to a different shop or sell it AsIs and buy a new one. Not cost effective to replace the transformer.
               
            • 67Dart273

              67Dart273 FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

              Messages:
              48,856
              Likes Received:
              17021
              Joined:
              Oct 14, 2010
              Location:
              Idaho
              Local Time:
              4:03 AM
              I would almost bet those people are full of crap. Almost always, when a high power transformer goes bad, it SHORTS, and this results in burned paint/ varnish/ other smells, some quantity of smoke, and blown fuses/ breakers
               
              • Like Like x 1
              • Agree Agree x 1
              1. This site uses cookies to help personalize content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
                By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.