Which Power Rack&Pinion easiest/cheapest install?

-

BigBlockMopar

BigBlockMember
Reaction score
In possible preparation of a 5.7 Hemi powerplant swap AND a slight bumpsteer improvement I'm trying to find out which type/year of Powersteering Rack&Pinion unit will be the easiest to install on my '73 Dart.

I'm fairly new to these type of steeringlinkages so I'm also looking for info which R&Ps have the best length/design/similar tierod-lengths for use in the Dart.

So, what have you used and what are your experiences?

I wasn't going to reply because you were looking for the cheapest....but your steering and suspension isn't anything you should cheap on. I would strongly recomend using the RMS alterkation system. Bill's set-up is top notch. I know theres others that do this type of system, and do not have any way of commenting if they are good or not, but i did purchase the set up for my 69 Dart and sold some of his kits. No issues, very easy to install.

An aftermarket K-member is financially out of the question. This is just my daily driver on which I want to do some 'simple' improvements. It is not my only project car for that matter aswell.

So the stock K-member stays. Just looking for a (correct width) power R&P.
I believe the inner tierod-joints or torsionbars are 24" apart on my '73.
So to keep the linkage in spec (bumpsteer) I would be looking for an R&P with these same measurements aswell I would think.

maybe bob will see this and give you some help...:glasses7:

An aftermarket K-member is financially out of the question. This is just my daily driver on which I want to do some 'simple' improvements. It is not my only project car for that matter aswell.

So the stock K-member stays. Just looking for a (correct width) power R&P.
I believe the inner tierod-joints or torsionbars are 24" apart on my '73.
So to keep the linkage in spec (bumpsteer) I would be looking for an R&P with these same measurements aswell I would think.