why is it impossible to find new small ball joint a-body complete control arms

-

jcarr210

Reaction score
So my left control arm striped when removing the old ball joint and I'm looking for a brand new complete arm and can't find anything. They're all over ebay for everything but an A-body. Even the rare parts one that I did find no one has including rare parts themselves. I have a new set of Hotchkis arms that I'm thinking of throwing on there but I'd have to ream out the knuckle and I had planned on selling them for my car painting fund. If anyone knows who sells a new complete arm or has a left arm ready to go please let me know. Thanks!

Depends on wat you want to pay.
PST sells repops.
There are a few for sale on the forum but they'll need to be cleaned up

I have been running a ball joint welded in place for 6 years. It had enough threads to screw in snug, but any pressure just turned and turned. It is tacked at 4 places around the joint. Of course when I need a new one, I'll have to toss the arm, but as least I got another joint's life out of the arm before I did. This has come up before here and there are lots of folks using the same fix.

FYI, I bent a small uca pressing off old bushings. Got 2 used ones from a friend. The one I needed was bent also. We straightened it. Just saying.

You can ask Hotchkis to swap the a-arms for their small ball joint arms. The large ball joint is what they include in kits as a start as they assume people want the large ball joint to go with the disc brakes and 4.5 bolt pattern. I spoke to them 6 months ago about this and the tech rep said as long as they were not used and as delivered they would exchange them.

I've got a brand new re-pop upper control arm that spit out the ball joint. Just tack weld it back in place as mentioned above.

what are you offering for a refurbished control arm with new bushings & ball joint installed?
Lawrence