Wiper motor intermittently stopping

-

Robj

Reaction score
This is my first time dealing with a wiper motor issue. I've read everything in the factory manual and what I could find on here but didn't see anything relating exactly to my problem.

1970 Dart with two speed motor. With the switch on, the wipers will sometimes stop mid-swipe, sometimes stop at the bottom of the swipe. If stopped mid-swipe and I turn the switch off, they will sit they for a short bit and eventually return to the parked position. When they stop in the down position, I can work the switch on and off and nothing. After a little bit, they will work maybe for several swipes or maybe for half a swipe before stopping again.

The manual reads- "A circuit breaker, integral with the wiper switch protects the circuitry of the wiper system and the vehicle." There's no test shown for the circuit breaker. The test for the switch is a continuity bench test of the switch terminals out of the vehicle with no voltage applied. This doesn't really address the breaker and is it built into the switch?

The test for the motor is to basically jump power to it from the battery. If the breaker is in the switch, this isn't going to tell me if perhaps the motor has some internal problem triggering the breaker. I guess I need to check for binding in the linkage too.

Anybody out there have experience with this condition and or a better way to isolate if the problem is in the breaker or the motor? Thanks!

From Valiant.org

"The windshield wiper and headlamp circuits had circuit breakers in their switches. The back-up lamps and turn signals took their power from the windshield wiper switch, and thus the windshield wiper breaker. The cigar lighter and interior dome lamp get their power from the headlamp switch and use the headlamp switch circuit breaker."