Wow, the Plymouth Duster FB page is just...

-

Cuprum-74

Moparus Fanaticus
FABO Gold Member
Reaction score
I recently got into a pissing match on the Plymouth Duster Facebook page.

https://www.facebook.com/groups/2266928269/

Definitely filled with idiots.

The pissing match was how the 904 is worthless piece of junk and how it should be replaced with a 727...

Yeah I guess my 400hp 360 is going to blow up my 999, I'm riding on top of a ticking time bomb. comments like: "Its only a 6 cylinder transmission" or better yet "I've blown several 904's up with my 318."

Big deal. I've had 2nd and 3rd gear go kablooey on an A727 in my old stock 360 1988 power Ram before.

It's all how you build these damn things... Granted I'm no expert but I know quite a bit about these transmissions only because I had a grumpy, old retired transmission technician school me, oh yeah I keep an open mind and am willing to learn.
I also had a bunch of guys here on FABO school me as well.
I've rebuilt numerous engines, 318's, 360's GM 305's. AMC 401's, but when one guy made the Idiot comment of the day and said that 360's are junk boat anchors, its all about the 318's and 340's. :banghead:
I was floored on the stupidity of that comment. Yep ok, maybe in stock form, but modded up they're all neck in neck. I love 340's and 318's. BUT a 340 is rare, I would love to cruise in a 340 car. Daily drive, or race? nope. 318's a good motor, but is it so much more awesome than a 360? Umm, no not quite. Sorry.

And in no way did I say the 904 is better than the 727. All's I said is that the 904's (or 998-999's) can be made to handle decent power and last, it won't cost you much. (It only costed me a total of a little over $900) And I scored a A999 for $125 from a salvage yard and did half the rebuild work myself.