A833OD inspection results... thoughts?

-

Chained_360

Delusional Member
FABO Gold Member
Reaction score
I've never worked on a manual transmission before, so I hope you guys can help me interpret what I found while inspecting this one. I just finished taking a peek inside the A833 overdrive I bought this summer, and I think (hope) that it's in pretty good shape considering it sat for over 20 years. The guy I bought it from said he rebuilt it in '95. All the shift levers moved and locked very smoothly, and the gears engaged nicely too. The side cover took a little convincing to break the seal, but the shift forks slid out easily too.
20171026_171049_HDR.jpg

Overall, the transmission looked to be in pretty good shape. Some of the surface rust is visible in the picture above, but it's all pretty minor, no pitting or anything. The teeth of all the gears are in really good shape, no scoring or chipping or bluing. However, there were still three main concerns: The input shaft has a nice wobble to it, the dog teeth are kind of worn down, and the transmission would make a very soft scraping noise on only part of the rotation as it spun around.

The input shaft would barely touch the bearing retainer collar as I wiggled it, so I think a new input bearing is in order (if it's something else, please let me know!). Third gear was by far the worst. It looks like the dog teeth have absolutely no point to them, which was probably due to the excessive play in the input shaft. I think I'm gonna have to go ahead and get a new input shaft gear, 'cause this one looks like it's toast. Bummer too, because the actual gear teeth are in great shape.
20171026_171138_HDR.jpg