1.98 Rear End?

-

BlindSquirrel

Reaction score
Hello, Guys and Gals,

Although I have been visiting your wonderful site for several months, I just recently purchased a 1967 Barracuda, so I figured that I should join up. I am trying to repair several items that are not working on the car, and need some help with a speedometer. My original speedo was broken, and I replaced it with a nice used unit, but the new speedo doesn't work. I thought I should check out the rear end gears so that I can check for the proper pinion gear while I am troubleshooting. It appears that the car has 1.98 gears in the rear, and the speedo pinion chart in the shop manual doesn't go that low. Any suggestions? Any comments on the gear ratio?

Thanks.

BlindSquirrel

Never heard of a 1.98 before. Should get great gas mileage on the highway!

Welcome, and nope, no 1.98 gears. 2.73ish is as low as you could go until sometime in the 80's there was a 2.54. How exactly did you figure the 1.98?

I put a paper tape on the drive shaft and spun the rear wheel for 1 revolution. The drive shaft spun 1.98 times in the 1 revolution of the wheel. Is this the correct way to determine the gear ratio?

that is a logical way to determine gear sets, but only in a sure-grip (posi) style diff or a spool. The open diff likes to trick ya. The simplest way is to look at the edge of the ring gear. Most ring gears have the gear set ratio stamped into them. (ie 2.76, 2.96, 3.23)

that should work but doesnt sound right. sure you didnt miss one revolution?

If it's not a sure grip, it doesn't work like that. When you turn one tire, if the other tire is motionless or turning the opposite direction or turning the same direction at a different speed, then counting the revolutions at the yoke will not give you an accurate gear ratio.

Thank you, all of you, for the help. It is not a sure grip rear end, so I guess I have to do some more work and get at the ring gear.

Thanks again for the help.