1970 Dodge Dart Dash Removal

-

PikaPhantom

Reaction score
Hey guys I'm new to this old cars stuff. I just started getting into it. I bought a 1970 Dodge Dart Swinger and right now I'm trying to remove the dash to inspect the wires. If anyone could tell me how i should go about doing that that would be really helpful. Thanks!

EDIT: Hey guys. Thanks for the thorough explanations but just to clarify, I’m only talking about removing the instrument cluster. Do you guys have any pics or explanations as to how to do that? Sorry about the confusion. Thanks!

Last edited:
If you are trying to remove the entire dash as one unit, most will tell you that the windshield has to come out to remove the top 5 fasteners! However, I have removed a few dashes by takin out the guage cluster, radio and glovebox liner, and gone up under and cut the stem off of the top bolts from underneath and popped the last thread loose with a pry bar! It's a lot of work, especially if you are just doing it to check the wiring! If you are going to go through all of that, you might as well paint the dash frame, have your bezels redone, a new pad and of course new defrost vent tubes, as those will undoubtably get trashed trying to get them off! Still interested in taking it out??? I'll take some pics, I have one to remove and will be doing it from underneath!!