273 back-lash

-

indian

Reaction score
got a 64 dart gt with a 67 273 in it I have looked on old threads and cant find out how to adjust valves on this. im a novice any help would be appreciated.

I always use wheat is known as "EOIC"

This means "Exhaust Opening, Intake Closing," and works on everything from a 1 cyl Briggs to a V16 whatever

This is how you do this

If the valve lash is specified warm, warm the engine up properly, get your tools laid out, and get the wiring, etc, laid so you can quickly remove a valve cover.

I do one bank at a time, and you can reinstall that cover when done and re-warm the engine again if necessary

So warm it up and remove one cover.

Bump or wrench the engine over until..........

The EXHAUST valve just starts to OPEN and adjust that intake valve.

Then bump / wrench it over until the INTAKE opens completely, and is almost CLOSED and adjust that exhaust valve

Another good way --on V8s which have this firing order-- is "the chart..........."

Measure around the balancer to obtain the circumference, and divide it up so you can mark it at 90 degree intervals

312P4452989.jpg

I use a feeler the size you need for the lash, and one about .002" larger. A "go -no go" type deal

I always use wheat is known as "EOIC"

This means "Exhaust Opening, Intake Closing," and works on everything from a 1 cyl Briggs to a V16 whatever

This is how you do this

If the valve lash is specified warm, warm the engine up properly, get your tools laid out, and get the wiring, etc, laid so you can quickly remove a valve cover.

I do one bank at a time, and you can reinstall that cover when done and re-warm the engine again if necessary

So warm it up and remove one cover.

Bump or wrench the engine over until..........

The EXHAUST valve just starts to OPEN and adjust that intake valve.

Then bump / wrench it over until the INTAKE opens completely, and is almost CLOSED and adjust that exhaust valve