2bbl conversion -- worth it?

-

mvh

FABO Gold Member
FABO Gold Member
Reaction score
Hi! I've been on FABO for a long time, but I'm new to slant sixes. So, this 67 Barracuda convertible came with a few boxes of parts, including a Carter BBD and the 2bbl manifolds, newly painted, and the air cleaner base. It seems clear that my father was contemplating swapping out the Holley 1920 at one time. What I want to know is, what are the pros and cons? Any other parts needed? As far as I know the rest of the motor is stock, other than a Pertronix distributor.

You will need the kickdown linkage for the swap. It will make a noticeable difference in performance and is said to actually improve your fuel economy.

I did the swap. When i had the 1bbl set up i was getting 22mpg then after when i went 2bbl i get 17 mpg it did make a noticeable difference in power though way easier getting on the freeway and cutting people off hahahahhahah

Yeah, I don't know where the "improve fuel economy" myth came from, but that's what it is. A myth. Since the 2 barrel is not a staged one and both barrels open simultaneously, mileage will certainly go down.

IMO, unless you are making several other modifications at the same time, such as headers, maybe milling the head and adding a performance camshaft, the gains you will get just from the 2 barrel carburetor alone and the needed larger exhaust will be noticeable, but not impressive. IMO you will get a bigger decrease in mileage than increase in power.

Yeah, I don't know where the "improve fuel economy" myth came from, but that's what it is. A myth. Since the 2 barrel is not a staged one and both barrels open simultaneously, mileage will certainly go down.