318 or 340?

-

Jplush

Reaction score
I just picked up a '68 B'cuda convertible. She's a complete rebuild, automatic. I need to get a power plant for her. I'm new to Mopar and am not sure to look for a 318 or 340. Gonna be a street cruiser, no need for anything ridiculous; I just want something strong that sounds good.

360 all the way. 318 is fine for a cruiser but is dimensionally identical to a 340/360 sans 1 bolt boss. A 340 will break you financially. 360 has more torque and that is what makes a street cruiser fun. If you already have a 318, you can build one but its literally the same price as a 360 build. 318 with a raspy cam and headers SOUNDS as mean as a 340.

New to Mopar? if that is the only two your considering, the 340 is more expensive/harder to fine. 318..... dime a dozen. 340 will make your car worth a little more, offer more potential in performance. 318 will work great for the money and offer a lot of performance. Should something "go wrong", better to be out a 318 than a 340.
I would consider a 360 in the mix for sure...... Great performance, dime a dozen

I was in the market for an engine when I heard a Dodge Ram with a 360, cam, exhaust some simple stuff ohhhhh boy. I can't freaking wait to get the valiant done and put in a 360... Deals can be found, lots of durangos are out and about.. In my area it's 500 for one with a bad tranny, I managed to get one for 400 good everything just needed a ECU. Worth the peace of mind knowing it runs good before you put in the labor.. The main thing to plan for is cracked heads, I've heard it's common in the 360 magnums

Yes, this is my first adventure that is not a small block Chevy. I appreciate all of the best bout so far. I will definitely look into the 360 option.

Three4D$$$$$

stroke a boneyard 360 for the same cash. Fouroh8!

The initial cost of the 340 is what will get you, good parts for all of them cost the same.