383 in 68 Dodge Dart? new build

-

Matt68dart

Reaction score
Hi Everyone

I am new to A-Bodies and new to Mopar. I just fell in love with a 1968 Dart and have the dream of restoring it into a nice street ride. I am hoping to meet some fellow Dart owners and get some good advice on my build.

I will be posting pics soon

If I can ask a question to start. I just ran across what I believe is a nice 383 big block and two 727 transmissions that the guy is asking $650 for. (for a motor and two transmissions it seemed like a good deal)

Should I go this route or look for a 340 / 360? I would like to have around 400hp when its all said and done I want to be able to have fun on the street with some real power but not a drag car ifthat makes sense.

The car currently has a 318 but it is not the factory motor.

Again Thanks and I look forward to learning a lot from you guys

Matt

Go with the 360....makes all the power you will want for the street and will be a lot easier to find. Tons of parts available for it and exhaust shouldn't be to big of a problem.

Matt, I was in a similar situation to yours in 2005. I had just got a 68 Dart GT with a 273ci engine and wanted to swap it out and insert a 360 engine.

A buddy of mine had a newly prepped 383 long block and offered to sell me it for the same price as I would have paid for a 360.

So I went with the 383...(see my signature-pic below)

Well, in the process, I found out that I had to get a proper sized radiator (I got mine OEM for a 1973 Jeep Wagoneer 400ci engine), Transmission (BB 727), a rear end (8-3/4) that would handle the torque, resize the driveshaft (shorten), Schumacher motor mounts & Tri-Ys, Larger torsion bars, rear spring offset mounts, 1973 Duster front disk brakes; etc,etc..

All told about $7000 worth of upgrades and retrofits..not including "Engine Work"

Was it worth it..?

FOOK YAH..!!!