57 Dodge truck body onto 2000 Durango chassis

-

BRamm

Reaction score
I have a 2000 Dodge Durango 5.9 that I want to put a 1957 dodge truck body onto. I was hoping to find someone with a similar project to toss around ideas with.

I dont have a similar project but i want to say i am a fan of old trucks any make. i do know that people have done 47-55 Chevy 3100 trucks on to S10 frames maybe its similar?

Also "good for you" Id love an old truck to restore but i have to finfish my Mopar first LOL!

I have a 2000 Dodge Durango 5.9 that I want to put a 1957 dodge truck body onto. I was hoping to find someone with a similar project to toss around ideas with.
Welcome to the site! Sounds like a fun project! I have no experience for you but there is a member here that I believe is doing something similar... maybe? But a Chevy truck body. j par Maybe along the way a few things might cross over from each of your projects.

My buddy in Freeport, Illinois has done this swap a couple of times, but he does own a welding shop...

I have a 47 dodge truck on a 74 Ramcharger frame.

The Durango chassis is kinda wide for your 57, a Dakota chassis is about the right width.

I am in the process of finishing putting a 59 dodge on a 2000 dakota chasis. Had to shorten the frame 23 inches and raise the bed floor a few inches to get the stance I was looking for. Other than that the swap was pretty easy. Here is a pic of the stance. Used a 5.9 magnum and 518 46RH trans. No cutting of the tunnel or firewall was necessary.

59.jpg

truck1.jpg

I am in the process of finishing putting a 59 dodge on a 2000 dakota chasis. Had to shorten the frame 23 inches and raise the bed floor a few inches to get the stance I was looking for. Other than that the swap was pretty easy. Here is a pic of the stance. Used a 5.9 magnum and 518 46RH trans. No cutting of the tunnel or firewall was necessary.

View attachment 1716020003

View attachment 1716020004