A-body 8 3/4 rear, redrill small bolt to big bolt?

-

migsBIG

Reaction score
This is my first time posting a question here in the tech section, so hi to all and hope to learn something.

Just picked up a 1970 dart 8 3/4 rearend that was pretty much fresh and ready to go, only problem was that the big bolt adaptor I was going to use won't work with the wheels I have. I remember a few guys who took their stock small bolt axles an drums down to a shop and had them redrilled for big bolt pattern. They drove well and never had any problems. Would be alot easier than buying all new axles, bearings, studs and brake drum assemblies. Since the car is only getting a 300hp 340, I won't have to worry about parts brakage.

Has anybody done this or offer some helpful advice?

I have a drill jig, I use to drill axles/hubs and drums to the 4 1/2 incxh bolt pattern. I have had zero problems. I do recommend using 1/2 inch studs that screw into the axle flange. That way you drill a smaller hole, then would be required for press in studs, and allow more "meat" to the other holes. It is critical to have the holes drilled and tapped on the "exact" correct bolt circle, and square to the flange.

I have the same problem im intersted in drilling my axels also . i live in swst fl.if charrlie s is interested i would like mine done will pay.you can contact me at 941-255-0970.

If you have small to big bolt pattern adapters in hand you could knock the studs out of one and use it as a pattern / locater.

There is a reputable source here in my erea that builds rearends, so I would probably use them. They have build a bunch of rearends for locals and had no problems with them.

When i blew up my 7 1/4 (which had bbp) and i got my 8 3/4 it had sbp. I took the backing plates off of my 7 1/4 and they've been working great!

When i blew up my 7 1/4 (which had bbp) and i got my 8 3/4 it had sbp. I took the backing plates off of my 7 1/4 and they've been working great!