another push rod question

-

gunmetal72

Life is a dark ride
Reaction score
Well here I am asking for help yet again. I am measuring for push rods but I am not sure where the set screws on he rockers should be to get the correct length. Currently I have them set all the way in and the average measurement with is 6.75" or 171 mm. This is on a hrd roller lifters in a 340. Should the set screws be set all the way in? Also, where is the best place to buy push rods?

Adjusters should have about two threads showing under the rocker arm. IMO.

...or use Manton for pushrods. I'm no expert, but typically no more than two threads showing. I've only done stud mounted Magnum small blocks and big block stuff.

Have you verified that your rocker arm geometry is correct? You need to get them set up at the correct height first to get proper valve tip sweep. If not, be sure to do this before ordering pushrods.

What rocker arms are you running. T&D's require a specific amount of threads to be showing for oiling purposes. Others may or may not be the same.

Manton has a huge selection from toothpicks to baseball bats. pull tip out of a slant pushrod and start cutting tube. put tip back in and mock up/check, keep cutting and testing until you get your optimum length. measure and order. practically free.

Adjusters should have about two threads showing under the rocker arm. IMO.
x2... I would set them like this to start. As you are checking, rotate the engine through a full 2 rotations and watch the cup to ball interface at the rockers to see if all stays clear.

I have measured 5 exhaust & 5 intakes with about 2 threads showing, All are within 0.30 of each other. When I order from Smith Bros. should I use the average of all 10 measurements?

Yes, that is a good plan and then adjust the adjusters to compensate.