Brake conversion 73 duster

-

max hurlbut

Reaction score
Hello. Looking to get some input
Complete newby to old assemblies, but quite mechanically minded.

So anyway. Can someone please confirm? The spindle bolts to the steering gear, ball joint etc.
Over the spindle goes the 2 tapered wheel bearings?
Then the rotor itself sits over the bearings and gets bolted into place through the middle?

If that's the case, could I then find a rotor that fits my drum spindle, fabricate a backing plate and caliper holder and essentially MAKE a brake conversion kit rather than buying one.

How do I test a good fit rotor to the spindle, and would the caliper bracket be made out of hardened steel, or would mild / stainless be enough?

Would greatly Appreciate any help or ideas

I thought 73 was the year the all started coming with disk brakes.

'73-6 6cyl. A-bodies could still have drum brakes. I wouldn't try messing around piecing a disc brake setup together. Safety being the main issue, but, the shear hassle trying to get everything to play well together is another reason. Get either a stock disc brake setup (my personal choice) or a kit from a known vendor. At least you currently have the large ball joint upper control arms, so, that won't be needed to be sourced.

'73-6 6cyl. A-bodies could still have drum brakes. I wouldn't try messing around piecing a disc brake setup together. Safety being the main issue, but, the shear hassle trying to get everything to play well together is another reason. Get either a stock disc brake setup (my personal choice) or a kit from a known vendor. At least you currently have the large ball joint upper control arms, so, that won't be needed to be sourced.
I forgot about slant cars. Heres all the stuff you'll need.
https://www.doctordiff.com/brakes/front/

73-76 A bodies with 318's could also have drums on all 4 corners, and small bolt pattern.