Brake Light switch or Bracket???

Brakes for your Classic Mopar

  1. lilfontleroy

    lilfontleroy annoyinglilLeRoy FABO Gold Member

    Messages:
    1,133
    Likes Received:
    934
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2017
    Location:
    USA
    Local Time:
    10:27 PM
    you said handy :lol:
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • moparmat2000

      moparmat2000 FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

      Messages:
      13,479
      Likes Received:
      3346
      Joined:
      May 13, 2010
      Location:
      Grand Tetons
      Local Time:
      10:27 PM
      Steve your brakelight switch is in the wrong hole. See pix below. Last pic is slotted hole it's supposed to go in. Big hole it's going into in your pic is the pivot bushing hole for the brake pedal

      Screenshot_20190813-123424_Gallery.jpg

      Screenshot_20190813-123453_Gallery.jpg

      Screenshot_20190813-123535_Gallery.jpg
       
      • Thanks! Thanks! x 1
      • Agree Agree x 1
      • Dana67Dart

        Dana67Dart Like a fine wine, only getting better with age! FABO Gold Member

        Messages:
        2,439
        Likes Received:
        1200
        Joined:
        Jul 16, 2017
        Location:
        Northern Colorado
        Local Time:
        9:27 PM
        Last edited: Aug 13, 2019
      • moparmat2000

        moparmat2000 FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

        Messages:
        13,479
        Likes Received:
        3346
        Joined:
        May 13, 2010
        Location:
        Grand Tetons
        Local Time:
        10:27 PM
        I have never seen any with an adjustable switch. Only an adjustable bracket
         
        • Agree Agree x 1
        • 4spdragtop

          4spdragtop FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

          Messages:
          26,093
          Likes Received:
          5620
          Joined:
          Aug 28, 2009
          Location:
          Ontario
          Local Time:
          10:27 PM
          You may be right Matt, I just grabbed bracket etc out of box. I will chk it out when I get home.
          I remember it was a pain in the arse to get the 67 working properly, very awkward spot with buckets console in the way. Said f it and bought an adjustable switch over the counter at parts store.
           
        • Mgarrett88

          Mgarrett88 Member

          Messages:
          14
          Likes Received:
          13
          Joined:
          Aug 11, 2019
          Location:
          Michigan
          Local Time:
          11:27 PM
          Is this the adjustable style switch that you are speaking of? looks like it has the same type of terminals for my current style.
          upload_2019-8-13_19-25-0.png
          This is what i currently have
          upload_2019-8-13_19-26-32.png
           
          • Agree Agree x 1
          • moparmat2000

            moparmat2000 FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

            Messages:
            13,479
            Likes Received:
            3346
            Joined:
            May 13, 2010
            Location:
            Grand Tetons
            Local Time:
            10:27 PM
            Standard male spade connector.
             
          • 69_340_GTS

            69_340_GTS Well-Known Member

            Messages:
            3,376
            Likes Received:
            1296
            Joined:
            Jul 11, 2014
            Location:
            Torrington, CT
            Local Time:
            11:27 PM
            See, I told you they existed. I do not think they were ever installed as OEM Mopar. But they found their way into many cars.
             
            • Agree Agree x 3
            • moparmat2000

              moparmat2000 FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

              Messages:
              13,479
              Likes Received:
              3346
              Joined:
              May 13, 2010
              Location:
              Grand Tetons
              Local Time:
              10:27 PM
              Ok I will clarify. I never seen any "A bodies" with an adjustable switch. Only an adjustable mounting bracket.
               
              • Agree Agree x 1
              • 4spdragtop

                4spdragtop FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

                Messages:
                26,093
                Likes Received:
                5620
                Joined:
                Aug 28, 2009
                Location:
                Ontario
                Local Time:
                10:27 PM
                Yes that's the type I am talking about, sorry I just realized I made another mistake and didnt post pics of threaded style.
                ** I could be wrong but with the 2 connectors, 1 goes to ground???**
                In original its grounded thru the steel ring that holds it in the bracket??
                 
              • moparmat2000

                moparmat2000 FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

                Messages:
                13,479
                Likes Received:
                3346
                Joined:
                May 13, 2010
                Location:
                Grand Tetons
                Local Time:
                10:27 PM
                I dont believe its grounded thru the steel mounting ring. If it did, that would be a dead short to ground everytime you apply the brakes. Electricity flows thru the switch to the taillight, and ground returns at the lightbulb.
                 
                • Agree Agree x 1
                • 4spdragtop

                  4spdragtop FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

                  Messages:
                  26,093
                  Likes Received:
                  5620
                  Joined:
                  Aug 28, 2009
                  Location:
                  Ontario
                  Local Time:
                  10:27 PM
                  Thanks Matt, I'll take a look at my pedal puzzle in a day or so to see what's what.
                  Good pics!
                   
                  • Thanks! Thanks! x 1
                  • Dana67Dart

                    Dana67Dart Like a fine wine, only getting better with age! FABO Gold Member

                    Messages:
                    2,439
                    Likes Received:
                    1200
                    Joined:
                    Jul 16, 2017
                    Location:
                    Northern Colorado
                    Local Time:
                    9:27 PM
                    Brake, blinker, turn signal bulbs are grounded at the bulb. The brake switch takes 12v and pass it to the bulb. Your thinking of some door switches which make the ground for the bulbs
                     
                    • Agree Agree x 2
                    • Thanks! Thanks! x 1
                    • 4spdragtop

                      4spdragtop FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

                      Messages:
                      26,093
                      Likes Received:
                      5620
                      Joined:
                      Aug 28, 2009
                      Location:
                      Ontario
                      Local Time:
                      10:27 PM
                      So what are the 2 connectors for on the adjustable style? If I'm gonna mess shit up I may as well learn too lol
                       
                    • moparmat2000

                      moparmat2000 FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

                      Messages:
                      13,479
                      Likes Received:
                      3346
                      Joined:
                      May 13, 2010
                      Location:
                      Grand Tetons
                      Local Time:
                      10:27 PM
                      Same as like the OEM switch. They are 2 open contacts. The button is spring loaded with a metal contact disc on the contact end to complete the connection between the 2
                       
                      • Agree Agree x 1
                      • Dana67Dart

                        Dana67Dart Like a fine wine, only getting better with age! FABO Gold Member

                        Messages:
                        2,439
                        Likes Received:
                        1200
                        Joined:
                        Jul 16, 2017
                        Location:
                        Northern Colorado
                        Local Time:
                        9:27 PM
                        On an OEM style switch there are 2 terminals 12 volts goes in one and comes out the other when you press the brake pedal.
                        If you are referring to the adjustable one in the link you posted I would assume it is two separate switches.
                         
                        • Agree Agree x 1
                        • Dana67Dart

                          Dana67Dart Like a fine wine, only getting better with age! FABO Gold Member

                          Messages:
                          2,439
                          Likes Received:
                          1200
                          Joined:
                          Jul 16, 2017
                          Location:
                          Northern Colorado
                          Local Time:
                          9:27 PM
                          Aftermarket adjustable, two terminals on the rear end, Plastic housing no connection to ground ( single pole single throw)
                          upload_2019-8-13_19-25-0.png

                          OEM style,bracket adjustable, two terminals, one on the end
                          , one on the side. Plastic housing no connection to ground (Single pole, single throw)
                          upload_2019-8-13_19-26-32.png


                          Some sort of adjustable, with 4 terminals have no idea how it's internal contacts are wired. Plastic housing no connection to ground (could be double pole, single throw)

                          cruise_control_bg.jpg
                           
                          • Thanks! Thanks! x 1
                          • Agree Agree x 1
                          • moparmat2000

                            moparmat2000 FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

                            Messages:
                            13,479
                            Likes Received:
                            3346
                            Joined:
                            May 13, 2010
                            Location:
                            Grand Tetons
                            Local Time:
                            10:27 PM
                            3rd switch prob has extra contacts for cruise control.
                             
                            • Agree Agree x 2
                            • Mgarrett88

                              Mgarrett88 Member

                              Messages:
                              14
                              Likes Received:
                              13
                              Joined:
                              Aug 11, 2019
                              Location:
                              Michigan
                              Local Time:
                              11:27 PM
                              well guys i am pretty sure i fixed the issue and way easier than i thought.
                              Just had to loosen that bolt a bit and slide the bracket back a touch.
                              Sure did not think by the look of the bracket that it would have been able to do that but literally took 5 minutes. However this forum is great for things like this and knowledge sharing.
                              I appreciate the feedback. I did keep the switch i bought just in case.
                              may invest in a threaded adjustable one as well just to have.
                               
                              • Like Like x 2
                              • Dana67Dart

                                Dana67Dart Like a fine wine, only getting better with age! FABO Gold Member

                                Messages:
                                2,439
                                Likes Received:
                                1200
                                Joined:
                                Jul 16, 2017
                                Location:
                                Northern Colorado
                                Local Time:
                                9:27 PM
                                Yea!

                                My dad had the opposite issue, where the light would stay on. He took it to a shop and their solution was to put a return spring on the pedal (unbeknownst to me). After I got the car I happened to be looking under the dash and saw the return spring and thought what the heck. I removed it and later my daughter asked why the brake lights were on. Like you, 5 minutes under the dash, and the switch was adjusted. No more problem!
                                 
                              1. This site uses cookies to help personalize content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
                                By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.