Brakes not working?

-
I'm no expert.. That looks like a drum drum master cylinder because it has 2 equal reservoirs. Given the age of the car, raised paint from a brake fluid leak could be ghost of leak past.
If you have fluid leaks at the brake assemblies you'll find a mess on the backside of the wheel and tire.
I think I would just start pouring fluid at it. Pump the pedal until my leg is tired and walk away. If the fluid is all gone tomorrow morn the evidence is there somewhere. If fluid is still there I'd pump the pedal again and come back in the evening.
It will show the leak(s) eventually.

I agree with this since you have no driver's license and can't drive the car. Looking at the fire wall I suspect the master cylinder will end up being the issue.

Well all, I put fluid in the empty reservoir last night, pumped the pedal until I could get a nice firm push on it then let it sit and went to bed. Woke up to check this morning and the fluid is still there. What do you guys think?

Have you looked around the brake system and under the car for leaks? That stuff does not evaporate. It had to leak somewhere

It might be "right there" in the booster / master. It can leak out the rear of the master and into the booster. It will likely damage the booster (rubber) in enough time.

Have you looked around the brake system and under the car for leaks? That stuff does not evaporate. It had to leak somewhere

It might be "right there" in the booster / master. It can leak out the rear of the master and into the booster. It will likely damage the booster (rubber) in enough time.

There was a tiny little puddle near the drivers side front wheel, but I smelt it and it didn't smell like brake fluid

His picture shows his car to be a manual brake system so there would be no booster to be concerned with.

There was a tiny little puddle near the drivers side front wheel, but I smelt it and it didn't smell like brake fluid